United Nations Security Council


The United Nations Security Council (UNSC) is one of the six principal organs of the United Nations, charged with the maintenance of international peace and security as well as accepting new members to the United Nations and approving any changes to its United Nations Charter. Its powers include the establishment of peacekeeping operations, the establishment of international sanctions, and the authorization of military action through Security Council resolutions; it is the only UN body with the authority to issue binding resolutions to member states. The Security Council held its first session on 17 January 1946.

Notice: The following UNSC simulation begins in the summer of 2015.


  • Yemeni Civil War (2015-present)


Crisis Team
Crisis Director: Alexander Karasick (McGill University)
Assistant Crisis Director: Darena Muca (Concordia University)
Assistant Crisis Director: Eric Sader (Dawson College)
Assistant Crisis Director: Jeremy Allen (McGill University)
Assistant Crisis Director: Luisa Falcone (University of Rome Tor Vergata)
Assistant Crisis Director: Nina Fairbrother (Dawson College)
Assistant Crisis Director: Rana Gaffar (Marianopolis College)
Assistant Crisis Director: SooYun Cho (Université de Montréal, Faculty of Law)

Chair: Amory Benk (Concordia University)
Assistant Chair: Charles Roy (John Abbott College)
Assistant Chair: Samah Khandker (Marianopolis College)



Alexander Karasick
Crisis Director


Luisa Falcone
Assistant Crisis Director


Amory Benk


Darena Muca
Assistant Crisis Director


Nina Fairbrother
Assistant Crisis Director


Charles Roy
Assistant Chair


Eric Sader
Assistant Crisis Director


Rana Gaffar
Assistant Crisis Director


Samah Khandker
Assistant Chair


Jeremy Allen
Assistant Crisis Director


SooYun Cho
Assistant Crisis Director